h1

30

November 6, 2008

Each year when the air turns cool, the leaves change color, and the days grow shorter, I prepare to add another year to my age.  I was born on November 20th, 1978 at the Toledo Hosiptal in Toledo, Ohio to my unmarried birth mother and birth father, whom I’ve never met.  I was then transported to a pastor’s home to be looked after for one month and seven days by another man and woman that I’ve never met.  Finally, on December 27th 1978 I was finally adopted by my parents Christina and Joseph Lavalette (my birth mother wanted to wait until after Christmas to officially give me up).  And when I think about the orchestration of that process, I’m dumbfounded.

With just two weeks to go until my 30th birthday, I find it overwhelming that I’ve had three sets of parents.  Obviously, the woman and man that I call Mom and Dad are very near and dear to my heart.  They raised me, provided for me, and still to this day love me.  But I can’t help wondering about the other two sets of parents- the ones who brought me into this world, and the ones who cared for me during that first month or so of my life.  And I hope someday, I’m able to thank them for loving me enough to let me go.

I’m amazed at how God took a presumably unwanted and unexpected situation (the pregnancy of my birth mother) and turned it into (dare I say) a wonderful outcome.  Not only did my birth parents act responsibly by letting me live, they also gave the parents that raised me a baby when they didn’t think they could conceive (which later turned out to be false, hence my brother Mike).  And that was just the beginning.

Over the years, I’ve struggled to find happiness and fulfillment by means that the world erroneously says will satisfy. But it wasn’t until 11 years ago, when God grabbed ahold of my heart with his irresistible grace that I found out what life’s really about- knowing and making known His son Jesus Christ.  And ever since, I’ve fought and kicked and screamed as He took me and created in me a new heart and slowly began the process of progressive sanctification while simultaneously consecrating me to His service.  As a loving father shows a simple-minded youngster a better way, so God has lovingly revealed to me His glory, causing new desires and new life to spring up inside me.

So when I think about the fact that God took me from an unwanted pregnancy to a man and husband who desperately wants to serve Him, lead others to Him, and glorify His name, I am truly humbled.  And as I look ahead to my 30th birthday, I am reminded that Jesus began His ministry at age 30, so it can’t be that bad of an age!

Leave a Reply

