h1

Community

August 26, 2008

I’ve really struggled to make sure what I write on here is more than just “oh, so i went to the store today… and i went to the movies… blah blah blah,” hence the fact that I don’t write on here every day, but rather only when something meaningful comes to mind. And yesterday I reached a place of clarity when it comes to why God is so stinking insistent on His people being on community.

Life sucks without community. I’ve been studying my Bible, listening to/watching multiple teachings/sermons each week, and spending time in prayer daily, but I’ve been hitting a ceiling growth-wise. I guess sometimes the best way to see something is in its absence. Let me explain.

Over this past weekend, Ashley and I went to Toledo, Ohio to make some final preparations for our move. And between spending time with my family, some old friends, and one of my mentors, I was reminded of what it is like to be around genuine, loving people. I had some killer deep conversations and engaged with real, transparent people and while it was amazing, it also reminded me of that void that I’ve been feeling for the past few months.

When I look at the New Testament Church, I see a group of men on mission, working together, training each other up, sending each other out, and all that jazz. I see communities taking care of each other. I see accountability, prayer, support, admonishment, strong leadership, and most of all, love. And for the most part, Ashley and I have been an island here in Indianapolis, especially now that our only close friends have all moved on (literally, like out of state) to new ministry pursuits.

As I search for the purpose in all of this, it feels like I’m being taught the importance of community by feeling the pain and sadness of not having community. In other words, I hope that once Ash and I are surrounded by good, God-pursuing, authentically-living community, we’ll be sure not to take it for granted. And i can’t help but feel that as a result of this void, we’ll actively try to create the kind of community we’re currently lacking once we land in our new destination.

I guess you could say that God has given me a new perspective on Hebrews 10:24-25 which says:

And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near.” (English Standard Version)

Leave a comment