h1

For My Friends on Why We’re Moving…

August 12, 2008

Ashley and I had an amazing respite up in Toledo/at my parent’s lakehouse this past weekend. We’ve been spending quite a bit of time with my family as of late, as we are free to travel on the weekends now.  And though the time away from Indianapolis is much-needed, every time we return, it’s as though there’s a dark cloud over the city.

I’m sure part of it is the mess that was my past job still looming in the air in some capacity.  Hurt feelings of betrayal and mistrust still seem to creep up from time to time.  But I believe it’s something more than that.  It’s almost like we’re being prompted to hurry up and get our crap in a pile so that we can get out of here.

And that’s just what we intend to do.  We’re both actively praying and seeking God for discernment and perspective.  The discernment is to be able to hear His voice; to be able to see what He’s up to and join Him at work.  And the perspective is to see everything in light of the lessons we’ve both learned, especially over the past year.

A year ago, we were busily finishing up the house-finding/relocating details and working on getting our very first mortgage.  Having only been married for a year, it was a very exciting time in our lives to think that we’d be moving into our first house as a family.  But it didn’t come without it’s fair share of stress.

As I endeavored to move my family from Bowling Green, Ohio to Indianapolis, Indiana there was much to be considered, and little sleep to be had.  I remember pounding Red Bulls while sleeping only two hours per night in an effort to tie up all of the loose ends.  And then, finally, we scheduled our closing… VICTORY!  We got the keys to our new house and moved in.

However, the high we felt was short-lived, as we quickly began the sticky process of wading through all kinds of drama.  And through it all, we learned how to hold each other up, cheer each other on, and love each other through the roughest season of life either of us has weathered.

Fast forward about 11 months, and now we’re packing up our house and getting ready to put it up for sale.  It’s bittersweet because we’re really excited about what God’s doing/preparing but at the same time we are having this chapter of our lives closed so quickly, without any notice or warning.  I guess it’ll just take some getting used to.

And through it all I wouldn’t trade the last year of my life for anything.  I learned so much about how TO and how NOT TO do things in ministry.  And I feel like, through both positive and negative examples of leadership, I’ve grown a bit.  Of course, through it all I didn’t suspect that I was in a process of growing, but through the pain of pruning and refinement God has worked in my heart.

I’ve also seen my amazing wife become stronger and more well-read as a result of our trials.  It’s really encouraging to see how we both spur one another on to grow closer to God.

God truly is amazing.  He gets ALL of the GLORY for what He’s done over the past year.  And He’s calling us to a new season of ministry in which we can use the lessons and knowledge we’ve gained.  I can’t wait to see what He does next.

Please Pray for Us!

Leave a Reply

