h1

Billy Joel is amazing

July 25, 2008

Well, I guess I already blew it when it comes to writing in here daily.  Oh well.

Listening to Billy Joel.

I had an amazing time lunching with Mars Hill Church Pastor Mark Driscoll yesterday.  He was in Columbus, Ohio speaking at a conference, and a buddy of mine allowed me to tag along for a casual lunch at a random (but really good) bbq restaurant.

Listening to Driscoll recount some of his own experiences in church planting gave me hope that while things can seem bleak at times, God is always at work, and it is most important that we follow His calling on our lives.  As John Piper put it, “God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him.”

I ordered “Once” from Amazon.com a few days ago, and I’m hoping my not-so-cheery mail carrier (gotta keep it gender-neutral!) arrives bearing gifts today.  It’s one of those movies that I bought without having seen it first, based on the strength of the soundtrack.  I also did that with “Garden State” and it worked out pretty well.

I have decided to read more.  I have two bookshelves full of books that are probably 33% read (either I’ve read them all the way through, or at least a few chapters for a sermon or something) and I can’t help but feel that my brain could benefit from being exposed to the unread pages.  So that’s what I’m going to do right now.  Have a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

